Twitter Expert Connect Reflection

Members of my list 

I followed @JeffCharbonneau because he is a very good teacher that teaches in the US. He won Teacher of the Year in 2013 and teaches High School. He also says that one of his interests are Drama, which we both have in common. I thought that he would be a very useful and helpful source for my project.

I followed @jleung10 because she also is a teacher. I thought that teachers would have a good idea as to what factors you will need to think about when you choose which college to go to. One of her hobbies was also Drama so I knew for sure that we had that in common.

I followed @rpdpjerrad because he is interested drama. In his bio it says he is a Technology trainer but he has posted tweets about his interest in acting and drama. I also thought he would be a credible source because since he wasn’t a teacher then he could give me tips on what he had not think about to decide which college to go to to be a Technology Trainer and not just a teacher.

I decided to follow @onlinedegr3e because of her current job. Christine S. Baker is an Online Degree Consultant. This means that she helps students decide which degree to study in college and she will help them narrow down their choices by giving them tips, also based on the college they want to go to. I thought this was a very useful source to use since it is something that she does everyday.

I followed @johnmclear because he said that one of his main hobbies was drama. It also said that he was an expert in High School Drama in the expert list that we found our experts in.

I followed @MrR0g3rs because in his bio it says that he is a ‘Theatre Enthusiast’. He has tweeted many tweets about his interest in theatre. This can really help me because he can help me figure out what I need to think about when choosing a college that specializes in drama.

I decided to follow @DCCBuccaneers since they are a small college. I thought this was a good idea because they could give me information about what their student’s think about before going to their school.

I followed  @NCCOnline because it is an Online LEarning course where you can finish an entire college degree if you want to. I thought it would be interesting to find out why people choose to complete their degree online and not go to a university to complete their degree.

I followed @james_smith_hk because he is the head of Secondary at the Discovery School in Hong Kong. This could be very helpful since he is an administrator he could give me some tips that he gives his own kids when choosing which college they should go to.

I followed @james_smith_hk because he is a teacher whose hobbies include drama. This is very useful because it relates to me and he can give me exact specific points that can help me research tremendously.

Summary

 

These experts relate to my Genius Hour project because they are all high school teachers. This means that they are all used to giving tips and helping students find which college suits them best and how to choose that certain college over all the others. There is a lot of information that I requested from them. For example, I requested tips they gave to their student’s when they are deciding which college to go to. There is a certain way to ask these questions to your experts so that they don’t find you rude. For example, I formatted my questions by introducing myself, and stating that this was for. Then I asked them about the tips they had for me. All in all, this information can help me because it can help me brainstorm more factors that students need to think about when applying to a college.

 

Overall my tweets generally looked like this:

Quincy. “Quincy (@21quincy_l).” Twitter, Twitter, 15 Dec. 2017, twitter.com/21quincy_l.

The Process

My first response:

Charbonneau, Jeff. “Jeff Charbonneau (@JeffCharbonneau).” Twitter, Twitter, 10 Oct. 2015, twitter.com /JeffCharbonneau.

@JeffCharbonneau replied to my tweet that I sent him. He was the only one that replied to my tweets, even though he was the only one to respond his answer was very helpful and I will be able to use it in my research for my project. Although, none of my experts followed me back. They didn’t offer any direct assistance but I feel like if I had another question then he would of answered it. I also did not continue the conversation with him since he had already answered all of my questions that needed to be answered. I could use this process in the future school many ways. If I needed a primary source for a project or a research paper that I was doing I could contact one of these experts and get primary useful information. I could also use this to answer personal questions. For example, if I need help deciding which college to go to they could help me out by talking about that factors that I really need to think about and help me make a decision. There are many useful ways that I can use this process in school for.

Works Cited

Quincy. “Quincy (@21quincy_l).” Twitter, Twitter, 15 Dec. 2017, twitter.com/21quincy_l.

Charbonneau, Jeff. “Jeff Charbonneau (@JeffCharbonneau).” Twitter, Twitter, 10 Oct. 2015, twitter.com/JeffCharbonneau.

“Twitter Archives.” The Unbiased Blog, 13 Apr. 2017, www.theunbiasedblog.com/social-media/twitter.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *